cd rki
donors
new since yesterday
donated data
(Last updated: )

Comparison of data donors in the substudy on 'Tests, symptoms and living situation' with other reference studies

Introduction

In this blog post, we will give you further insight into the socio-demographic characteristics and the health situation of the data donors in the sub-study “Tests, Symptoms and Living Situation” (hereafter referred to as “sub-study”). This time we compare the educational level, the subjectively assessed health status and the utilization of general medical services of the participants in the sub-study with reference data. This brings us another step closer to the goal of describing data donors more precisely. Data donors in the sub-study are not representative of the general population, they registered themselves with the data donation app without having been randomly selected. This means that differences between the data donors and the general population are to be expected. We would like to further investigate in this blog post how strong these differences are with regard to the indicators mentioned.

Why do we compare the data donors in the sub-study with reference data? What does this have to do with Covid-19?

The comparison tells us whether the results of the questionnaire or the fever monitoring can be generalized to the overall population. Or, to put it another way, whether the effects that we record in the fever monitor would be expected to be less pronounced or more pronounced compared with the general population.

Educational status

To assess the educational background of the participants in the sub-study, we choose the Microcensus 2017 as a reference (source: FDZ der Statistischen Ämter des Bundes und der Länder, DOI: 10.21242/12211.2017.00.00.1.1.1, own calculations). For this purpose, we classify the educational and vocational training into three categories (low, medium, high education) according to the standards of ISCED11. When comparing educational status between participants of the sub-study and the Microcensus 2017, large differences can be seen in all three educational groups. As known from other surveys (i.e. survey study of the general population), we also see here that participants of the sub-study with low education are strongly underrepresented compared to the Microcensus 2017. This means that fewer people with low education participated in the sub-study than you would find in the general population. Also, from the group of those with a medium education, fewer people participated in the sub-study than would have been expected according to the Microcensus 2017. In contrast, significantly more people with a high level of education took part in the sub-study than would be expected in the general population. If we look at the distribution of education according to gender and age groups, we see similar results. There are stronger differences among women than among men. Moreover, the difference increases with age.

Limitation: The distribution from the Microcensus 2017 refers to the population aged 18 and over. The data donors, on the other hand, can participate from the age of 16. In the 16-18 age group, a large proportion has not yet completed their school education. This proportion was assigned to the low education category. The proportion in the low education category would therefore actually be even larger if the distribution of the population aged 16 and over were considered. Unfortunately, we do not have this distribution. 16 (0.08 %) data donors did not provide any information on school-leaving qualifications and vocational training out of a total of 20,924 participants in the questionnaire “Living situation” (Last updated: 20.12.2021).

Figure 1: Educational distribution of the data donors of the sub-study with Microcensus 2017

Subjective health status/general health status

For the evaluation of the subjectively assessed health status of the participants in the sub-study, we use the current population-representative health survey GEDA 2019/2020-EHIS of the Robert Koch Institute as a reference for comparison. Compared to the participants in GEDA 2019/2020-EHIS, the participants in the sub-study rate their subjective health status more frequently as very good or good and less frequently as moderate, poor or very poor. This observation is also reflected in the analysis according to gender, whereby the difference is more pronounced among women than among men.

If we look at the subjectively assessed state of health according to age groups, a somewhat different picture emerges. Participants in the sub-study aged 16 to 29 are less likely than participants in GEDA 2019/2020-EHIS to report a very good self-assessed health state. In contrast, they are more likely to report a moderately good self-rated health status than those taking part in GEDA 2019/2020-EHIS. Proportionally, participants in the sub-study aged 16 to 29 also report a subjective state of health rated as very poor slightly more often than participants in GEDA 2019/2020-EHIS, although these proportions are very low in both studies.

In the 60+ age group, a moderate, poor or very poor subjective health status is much less frequently reported among participants in the sub-study than in GEDA 2019/2020-EHIS. 171 (0.82 %) data donors did not provide any information on subjective health status out of a total of 20,924 participants in the questionnaire “Living situation” (Last updated: 20.12.2021).

Figure 2: Distribution of the subjectively assessed health status of the data donors of the sub-study with GEDA 2019/2020-EHIS

Utilization of outpatient medical services

With regard to the utilization of general practitioner services, participants in the sub-study have consulted general practitioners less frequently within the last 12 months, but more frequently 12 months or longer ago than participants in GEDA 2019/2020-EHIS. The proportion of those without general practitioner consultation is also somewhat higher in the sample of the sub-study.

According to gender, the difference among those who have seen a general practitioner within the last 12 months can be observed mainly among women: Participants in the sub-study were less likely to have used these medical services within the past 12 months than participants in GEDA 2019/2020-EHIS. In contrast, a larger proportion of female participants in the sub-study compared to GEDA 2019/2020-EHIS had visited a general practitioner in the past 12 months or more or had never used them. For men, there was no clear difference between the sub-study and GEDA 2019/2020-EHIS.

According to age group, participants in the 16-29 age group of the sub-study had visited a general practitioner less often in the past 12 months than participants in GEDA 2019/2020-EHIS in the same age group. Sub-study participants in this age group also report that they have never visited a general practitioner. In contrast, participants aged 60 and over in both studies have visited a general practitioner about equally often in the past 12 months. The proportions of participants aged 60 and over who had consulted a general practitioner past 12 months or more are also about the same in both studies. 208 (0.99 %) data donors did not provide any information on the last visit to a general practitioner or family doctor out of a total of 20,924 participants in the questionnaire “Living situation” (Last updated: 20.12.2021).

Figure 3: Distribution of the use of general practitioner services of the data donors of the sub-study with GEDA 2019/2020-EHIS

Conclusion

The willingness to donate data to science depends on various factors. We have examined the three characteristics, education, subjective health status and utilization of primary health care services. We see that the sample structure of data donors differs from the overall population, especially with regard to education. How the selection of the sample affects the interpretation of the results of the fever monitoring is still being investigated.

Outlook

The next blog post is about the assessment of further indicators of health status and health behaviour.

cd rki
Spender:innen
neu seit gestern
gespendete Daten
(Stand: )

Vergleich der Spender:innen in der Teilstudie „Tests, Symptome und Lebenssituation“ mit anderen Referenz-Studien

Einleitung

In diesem Beitrag werden wir euch einen weiteren Einblick zu soziodemographischen Merkmalen und zur gesundheitlichen Lage der Datenspender:innen in der Teilstudie „Tests, Symptome und Lebenssituation“ (im Folgenden „Teilstudie“ genannt) geben. Wir vergleichen diesmal den Bildungsstand, die subjektiv eingeschätzte Gesundheit und die Inanspruchnahme von allgemeinärztlichen Leistungen der Teilnehmenden an der Teilstudie mit Referenzdaten. Dadurch kommen wir dem Ziel, die Stichprobenzusammensetzung der Datenspender:innen genauer zu beschreiben einen weiteren Schritt näher. Die Zusammensetzung der Stichprobe der Datenspender:innen in der Teilstudie basiert nicht auf einer zufälligen Auswahl, die Nutzenden haben sich selbst bei der Datenspende App registriert, ohne zuvor per Zufallsstichprobe dafür ausgewählt worden zu sein. Dadurch sind Unterschiede zwischen den Datenspender:innen und der Allgemeinbevölkerung zu erwarten, weshalb wir in diesem Beitrag weiter untersuchen möchten wie stark diese Unterschiede hinsichtlich der genannten Indikatoren sind.

Warum vergleichen wir die Datenspender:innen in der Teilstudie mit Referenzdaten? Was hat das mit Covid-19 zu tun?

Der Vergleich gibt uns Auskunft darüber, ob sich die Ergebnisse des Fragenbogens oder des Fieber-Monitorings auf die Bevölkerung verallgemeinern lassen. Oder anders formuliert, ob sich ggf. die Effekte die wir im Fiebermonitor erfassen weniger stark oder stärker in der Allgemeinbevölkerung zeigen würden.

Bildungsstand

Um den Bildungsstand der Teilnehmenden an der Teilstudie zu bewerten, wählen wir als Referenz den Mikrozensus 2017 (Quelle: FDZ der Statistischen Ämter des Bundes und der Länder, DOI: 10.21242/12211.2017.00.00.1.1.1, eigene Berechnungen). Dazu klassifizieren wir den Bildungs- und den Berufsabschluss zunächst nach den Standards von ISCED11 in drei Kategorien (niedrige, mittlere, hohe Bildung). Beim Bildungsvergleich zwischen der Stichprobe der Teilstudie und dem Mikrozensus sind allgemein große Unterschiede in allen drei Bildungsgruppen zu erkennen. Wie aus anderen Surveys (d.h. Befragungsstudie der Allgemeinbevölkerung) bekannt, sehen wir auch hier, dass Teilnehmende mit niedriger Bildung im Vergleich zum Mikrozensus stark unterrepräsentiert sind. Das bedeutet, dass weniger Menschen mit niedriger Bildung an der Teilstudie teilgenommen haben, als es in der Allgemeinbevölkerung gibt. Auch aus der Gruppe derjenigen mit einer mittleren Bildung haben weniger Menschen an der Teilstudie teilgenommen, als gemäß Mikrozensus zu erwarten gewesen wären. Demgegenüber haben deutlich mehr Menschen mit einer hohen Bildung an der Teilstudie teilgenommen als es anteilig in der Allgemeinbevölkerung gibt.

Betrachten wir die Bildungsverteilung differenziert nach Geschlecht und Altersgruppen sehen wir ähnliche Ergebnisse. Bei den Frauen zeigen sich stärkere Unterschiede als bei den Männern. Außerdem nimmt der Unterschied mit zunehmendem Alter zu.

Limitation: Die Verteilung vom Mikrozensus 2017 bezieht sich auf die Bevölkerung ab 18 Jahren. Die Datenspender:innen können dagegen ab 16 Jahren teilnehmen. In der Altersgruppe der 16 bis 18 Jährigen ist die Schulausbildung bei einem großen Anteil noch nicht abgeschlossen. Dieser Anteil wurde der niedrigen Bildungskategorie zugeordnet. Der Anteil der niedrigen Bildungskategorie wäre somit eigentlich noch größer, wenn die Verteilung ab 16 Jahre in der Bevölkerung betrachtet werden würde. Leider liegt uns diese Verteilung nicht vor. 16 (0.08 %) Datenspender:innen haben keine Angaben zum Schul- und Berufsabschluss gemacht von insgesamt 20.924 Teilnehmenden an dem Fragenbogen „Lebenssituation“ (Datenstand: 20.12.2021).

Abbildung 1: Bildungsverteilung der Datenspender:innen der Teilstudie mit dem Mikrozensus 2017

Subjektiver Gesundheitszustand/Allgemeiner Gesundheitszustand

Für die Bewertung des subjektiv eingeschätzten Gesundheitszustands der Teilnehmenden an der Teilstudie verwenden wir zum Vergleich die aktuelle bevölkerungsrepräsentative Gesundheitsbefragung GEDA 2019/2020-EHIS des Robert Koch-Instituts als Referenz . Im Vergleich zu den Teilnehmenden an GEDA 2019/2020-EHIS bewerten die Teilnehmenden der Teilstudie ihren subjektiven Gesundheitszustand häufiger als sehr gut oder gut und seltener als mittelmäßig, schlecht oder sehr schlecht. Diese Beobachtung zeigt sich auch bei der differenzierten Betrachtung nach Geschlecht, wobei hier der Unterschied bei den Frauen stärker ausgeprägt ist als bei den Männern.

Betrachten wir den subjektiv eingeschätzten Gesundheitszustand nach Altersgruppen getrennt, so zeigt sich ein etwas anderes Bild. Teilnehmende an der Teilstudie im Alter von 16 bis 29 Jahren geben seltener als Teilnehmende an GEDA 2019/2020-EHIS einen sehr guten selbst eingeschätzten Gesundheitszustand an. Demgegenüber geben sie häufiger einen mittelmäßig eingeschätzten Gesundheitszustand an als diejenigen Teilnehmenden an GEDA 2019/2020-EHIS.

Anteilig geben Teilnehmende der Teilstudie im Alter von 16 bis 29 Jahre auch etwas häufiger einen als sehr schlecht bewerteten subjektiven Gesundheitszustand an als Teilnehmende an GEDA 2019/2020-EHIS, wobei diese Anteile in beiden Studien jedoch sehr gering sind. In der Altersgruppe der über 60-Jährigen wird die Nennung eines mittelmäßigen, schlechten oder sehr schlechten subjektiven Gesundheitszustandes unter den Teilnehmenden der Teilstudie wesentlich seltener angegeben als in GEDA 2019/2020-EHIS. 171 (0.82 %) Datenspender:innen haben keine Angaben zum subjektiven Gesundheitszustandes gemacht von insgesamt 20.924 Teilnehmenden an dem Fragenbogen „Lebenssituation“ (Datenstand: 20.12.2021).

Abbildung 2: Verteilung des subjektiv eingeschätzten Gesundheitszustands der Datenspender:innen der Teilstudie mit GEDA 2019/2020-EHIS

Inanspruchnahme allgemeinärztlicher Leistung

Hinsichtlich der Inanspruchnahme von Allgemein- oder Hausarzt:ärztinnen wird deutlich, dass Teilnehmende an der Teilstudie diese:n seltener innerhalb der letzten 12 Monate, dafür aber häufiger vor 12 Monaten oder länger aufgesucht haben als Teilnehmende an GEDA 2019/2020-EHIS. Auch der Anteil derjenigen ohne eine allgemein- oder hausärztliche Inanspruchnahme ist in der Stichprobe der Teilstudie etwas höher.

Differenziert nach Geschlecht lässt sich der Unterschied unter denjenigen, die eine:n Allgemein- oder Hausarzt:ärztin innerhalb der letzten 12 Monate aufgesucht haben, vor allem bei den Frauen beobachten: Teilnehmerinnen an der Teilstudie haben diese:n seltener innerhalb der letzten 12 Monate in Anspruch genommen als Teilnehmerinnen an GEDA 2019/2020-EHIS. Dagegen hat ein größerer Anteil der Teilnehmerinnen der Teilstudie im Vergleich zu GEDA 2019/2020-EHIS vor 12 Monaten oder mehr zuletzt eine:n Allgemein- oder Hausarzt:ärztin besucht oder hat diese:n noch nie in Anspruch genommen. Bei Männern ließ sich kein deutlicher Unterschied zwischen der Teilstudie und GEDA 2019/2020-EHIS erkennen.

Differenziert nach Altersgruppen waren vor allem Teilnehmende der Altersgruppe 16 bis 29 Jahre der Teilstudie seltener in den vergangenen 12 Monaten bei Allgemein- oder Hausärzt:innen als die Teilnehmenden an GEDA 2019/2020-EHIS derselben Altersgruppe. Auch berichten vor allem Teilstudien-Teilnehmende dieser Altersgruppe, noch nie eine allgemein- oder hausärztliche Praxis aufgesucht zu haben. Demgegenüber haben Teilnehmende ab 60 Jahren in beiden Studien eine:n Allgemein- oder Hausarzt:ärztin anteilig etwa gleich häufig in den vergangenen 12 Monaten aufgesucht. Auch die Anteile der ab 60-Jährigen, die eine:n Allgemein- oder Hausarzt:ärztin vor 12 Monaten oder mehr in Anspruch genommen haben, sind in beiden Studien etwa gleich hoch. 208 (0.99 %) Datenspender:innen haben keine Angaben zum letzten Besuch beim Allgemein- oder Hausarzt gemacht von insgesamt 20.924 Teilnehmenden an dem Fragenbogen „Lebenssituation“ (Datenstand: 20.12.2021).

Abbildung 3: Verteilung der Inanspruchnahme allgemeinärztlicher Leistungen der Datenspender:innen der Teilstudie mit GEDA 2019/2020-EHIS

Fazit

Die Bereitschaft Daten für die Wissenschaft zu spenden, hängt von verschiedenen Faktoren ab. Wir haben die drei Merkmale, die Bildung, den subjektiven Gesundheitszustand und die Inanspruchnahme medizinischer Grundversorgung untersucht. Wir sehen, dass die Stichprobenstruktur der Datenspender:innen von der Bevölkerung abweicht, insbesondere bei der Bildung. Wie sich die Selektion der Stichprobe auf die Interpretation der Ergebnisse des Fieber-Monitorings auswirkt, wird weiterhin untersucht.

Ausblick oder was erwartet euch im nächsten Post?

Im nächsten Blogbeitrag geht es um die Bewertung weiterer Indikatoren des Gesundheitszustands und Gesundheitsverhaltens.