cd rki
donors
new since yesterday
donated data
(Last updated: )

Fever curves by federal state

In the last post Feverish we presented the first national “fever curve” based on and computed from the donors' data. In this post, we not only want to give you an update on the national fever curve, but also want to show the results we obtained for the individual federal states in Germany.

Recall: In this project, we evaluate the time series of daily averages of resting heart rate and daily step counts of individual donors. When, if compared to individual baseline values in both quantities, the resting heartrate increases and remains elevated for a few days while simultaneously the step count drops and remains low for the same number of days, that anomaly is an indication that a person is sick and has developed a fever. Here’s a figure from the last post that illustrates a typical candidate for a positive detection:

Resting heart rate and daily step count of a potential donor with fever symptoms: This donor has a typical baseline of 3,500 steps per day and a typical resting heart rate of around 73 beats per minute. The heart rate rises and remains higher for a few days while the step count decreases simultaneously.

The deviations from individual baselines are computed for all donors with sufficiently long data streams and are automatically identified with the detection algorithms we developed.

Update: Fever curve for Germany

The following figure depicts the fever curve for Germany as measured by our detection algorithms. The way detection works is explained in detail in the post Feverish. Currently we are using two different detection algorithms (labeled A and B) that are based on two different measures of statistical deviations from the baseline central tendancy. Both algorithms produce functionally similar curves.

The national fever curve based on resting heart rate and daily step count: For every day in the depicted time period, we computed the daily detections from resting heart rate and daily step anomalies. The fever curve aggregates these detections on a national level. The dashed lines represent the trend in the progression with a systematic increase in detections in July.

In the time period from May 26th - Aug. 3rd, 2020 we measured the detection rate, so the fraction of detections with respect to the analyzed donor cohort. The detection rate is typically in the range of 0.01-0.06 so between 1% - 6% are “diagnosed” with fever. We see two different important qualitative features in the curves. First, we see clear temporal modulations in the curves with a typical period of around 2 weeks. We were able to find out that these modulations correlate with variations in outside temperature that exhibit approximately the same periodicity. We will discuss this topic in one of the next blog posts.

More important, however, are the trend lines. In the trends that ignore the short time variations, we see a systematic increase in fever detections in July. Or course, we cannot conclude from this that this increase is caused by COVID-19 cases. Because we “only” measure fever symptoms and not COVID-19 symptoms directly, the observed trend can also be caused by other infections of diseases that yield fever symptoms. This is why it is important to compare the measured curves to results obtained by other surveillance systems. This is explained in detail in the previous blog post Feverish.

Fever curves of federal states in Germany

By now we can compute the fever curves for the 16 federal states in Germany individually. Our goal is to fine-tune the geographic resolution and compute fever curves on a county and city level. At the moment, however, we do not see a sufficiently large number of detections on a county level.

The next figure depicts the fever curves for individual federal states.

Fever curve of individual federal states: The figure depicts positive detections in a chosen state. You can use the menu below to select each state. The two curves, again, represent the result of the two detection algorithms we developed.

Interestingly, the fever curves of individual states do not vary much apart from slight variations. All curves follow the overall national trend.

This effect can be seen more distuinctly the fever curves of all 16 states are depicted in one figure. This is shown in the figure below, which also depicts the national aggregated fever curve for comparison.

The fever curves of individual federal states compared to the national fever curve: This figure depicts the fever curve of individual states by color. The national curve is shown in black. Again, you can select individual states by clicking on the name of the corresponding state in the bottom legend.

What’s next?

Currently we are working on an automated pipeline for producing an online fever curve monitor that is automaticcally updated every day. Although this sounds simple, the process actually requires quite a number of computational steps that must be aligned and implemented. So bear with us. We need a few more days.

cd rki
Spender:innen
neu seit gestern
gespendete Daten
(Stand: )

Fieber in den Bundesländern

Im letzten Post Fieberhaft haben wir die erste aus den Spender:innen-Daten errechnete Fieberkurve gezeigt. Hier wollen wir Euch nicht nur die aktuellen Berechnungen zeigen, sondern auch die unterschiedlichen Kurven für die einzelnen Bundesländer.

Zur Erinnerung: Wir werten den täglichen Ruhepuls und die tägliche Schrittanzahl der Spender:innen aus. Wenn im Vergleich zu den individuellen Normalwerten (der sogenannten Baseline) der Ruhepulse über einige Tage signifikant ansteigt und gleichzeitig die tägliche Schrittanzahl über einige Tage deutlich sinkt, ist das (grob gesprochen) ein Indikator für Fieber. Hier ist nochmal ein typischer Verlauf mit Verdacht auf Fieber aus dem letzten Post:

Ruhepuls und tägliche Schritte mit Verdachtsverlauf: Diese Spender:in hat einen typische Ruhepuls von ca. 73 Schlägen pro Minute und eine typische tägliche Schrittzahl von ca. 3.500. Der Ruhepuls steigt über einige Tage an und gleichzeitig fällt die typische Schrittzahl unter die Baseline.

Diese Abweichungen werden für alle Spenderin:innen, die lange genug gespendet haben, mit Hilfe unserer Detektionsalgorithmen gefunden und gezählt.

Update: Fieberkurve für Deutschland

In der nächsten Abbildung sind die aktuellen Fieberkurven für Deutschland dargestellt. Wie die Detektion genau funktioniert ist im Post Fieberhaft erklärt. Wir verwenden momentan noch die beiden Detektionsalgorithmen A und B, die auf verschiedenen statistischen Maßen basieren aber ähnliche Kurvenverläufe produzieren.

Die nationale Fieberkurve basierend auf Ruhepuls- und Schrittzahldaten: Für jeden Tag im dargestellten Zeitraum haben wir die Anzahl der Detektionen basierend auf Ruhepulsanomalien in Kombination mit reduzierter Schrittanzahl gemessen und aggregiert. Die gestrichelten Linien zeigen den Trend im Kurvenverlauf und einen systematischen Anstieg im Juli.

Im Zeitraum vom 26.05. bis 03.08.2020 messen wir eine Detektionsrate im Bereich von 0.01-0.06, d.h. etwa 1-6% der Spender:innen haben Fieber. In den Kurvenverläufen sehen wir zwei wichtige qualitative Effekte. Zum einen sind das systematische Modulationen, also Schwankungen, die typischerweise eine Dauer von zwei Wochen haben. Wir konnten feststellen, dass diese Schwankungen höchstwahrscheinlich mit dem Wetter zusammenhängen, insbesondere mit Außentemperaturschwankungen. Diesen Zusammenhang werden wir in einem der nächsten Posts erklären.

Viel wichtiger als die Schwankungen sind aber die Trendkurven. Hier erkennen wir einen systematischen Anstieg der Fieberkurve im Juli. Wir können hieraus natürlich nicht schließen, dass der Anstieg durch steigende Fallzahlen von COVID-19 verursacht wird. Da wir “nur” Fiebersymptomatik messen und nicht direkt COVID-19 Infektionen, kann der Anstieg auch durch andere Infektionskrankheiten verursacht werden. Deshalb ist es wichtig, die Kurven mit anderen Surveillance Daten zu vergleichen. Mehr dazu im Blogpost Fieberhaft.

Fieberkurven für die Bundesländer

Mittlerweile können wir die Fieberkurve auch für die einzelnen Bundesländer berechnen. Unser Ziel ist es, geographisch noch feiner aufzulösen und für einzelne Land- bzw. Stadtkreise Fieberkurven berechnen zu können. Momentan sind hierfür die Fallzahlen pro Landkreis bzw. die Detektionen noch zu gering.

In der nächsten Abbildung sind die Fieberkurven der individuellen Bundesländer gezeigt

Die Fieberkurve in den Bundesländern: Die Abbildung zeigt die Fieberdetektionen in einem auswählbaren Bundesland. Mithilfe des Menüs können einzelne Bundesländer ausgewählt werden. Beide Kurven stellen wieder die Ergebnisse der beiden verwendeten Detektionsalgorithmen dar.

Man erkennt in der Abbildung, dass die Fieberkurven der einzelnen Bundesländer sich zwar unterscheiden, aber alle im Wesentlichen dem Bundestrend folgen.

Noch besser erkennt man diesen Effekt in der folgenden Abbildung, in der die Fieberkurven aller Bundesländer zusammen dargestellt und mit der bundesweiten Kurve verglichen werden.

Die Fieberkurve aller Bundesländer im Vergleich zum Bundestrend: Die Abbildung zeigt die Fieberkurven aller Bundesländer in unterschiedlichen Farben. Die bundesweit aggregierte Kurve ist in schwarz dargestellt. Einzelne Bundesländer können durch Anklicken des Menüs mit der bundesweiten Kurve verglichen werden.

Was kommt als nächstes?

Momentan arbeiten wir an der Automatisierung der Berechnung verschiedener Algorithmen und Parameter, damit wir in den nächsten Tagen eine täglich aktualisierte Fieberkurve in einem Fiebermonitor zur Verfügung stellen können.