cd rki
donors
new since yesterday
donated data
(Last updated: )

The Pulse of the Nation

The most important vital signal in our analysis is the resting heart rate. Since an increased heart rate could be a possible indicator for fever, which alone is a core symptom of COVID-19, the resting heart rate marks the basis for this study. More on this topic can be found here.

Each day, every connected device delivers information about a donor’s resting heart rate. By collecting this information for a number of days, we can establish a baseline resting heart rate for each donor. Because these values vary under normal conditions, we calculate this reference baseline on an individual-basis. This way, as we receive more and more data, we will be able to detect sytematic deviations from a normal resting heart rate that is unique to each person.

The distribution of the average resting heart rate

Because resting heart rate is our reference point, we need to better understand how this value varies amongst our donors. In short, what is “normal”?

The figure below depicts the distribution of the average resting heart rate over all donors. It shows that values vary roughly between 40 and 90 beats per minute.

Nation-wide average resting heart rate: The daily average resting heart rate is determined for each donor. This baseline follows a nicely shaped Gaussian distribution with values between approximately 40 and 90 beats per minute.

Using this, we can further determine the average resting heart rate over all donors:

Nation wide average heartrate: 60,94 beats per minute

However, one must take into account that the community of donors is not representative of the entire nation.

Temporal stability of the baseline

Naturally, people behave differently in different situations, i.e. on weekdays or weekends or holidays, which has a natural effect on their heart rate. This effect shall be taken into consideration when analyzing the above described baseline. The figure below describes the nation-wide average heart rate as a function of time

Average resting heart rate as a function of time: The nation-wide baseline, aggregated over all donors, is represented by the red line, whereas the red shaded regions show the variability within the population, i.e. the width of the distribution in first figure.

We can see that the nation-wide average resting heart rate at 60,94 beats per minute is nearly constant over the given time frame. In addition, the individual variabilty appears fairly consistant.

A nation-wide resting heart rate map

We can examine the regional variation of this baseline resting heart rate by averaging the values of users in each administrative district in Germany. The results are shown in the map below.

Regarding the community of donors, we can map the resting heart rate for each administrative district in Germany. It shows, values are roughly distributed between 58 and 64 beats per minute.

The average resting heart rate map: This map depicts the color-coded average resting heart rate for each administrative district in Germany. The heart rate varies roughly between 58 and 64 beats per minute on average. These variations appear to be minor, but they are of high importance to this study.

We can see from this map that resting heart rate differs regionally. These differences are snall, but systematic and not by coincidence. In urban areas, the resting heart rate appears consistently lower than in rural settings. Also, we typically see slightly higher values in eastern Germany.

The reasons behind this phenomenon may be multifaceted, yet, are not the focus of this study. The average resting heart rate as a baseline, however, constitutes our most important measure in computing a nation-wide Fever Map.

Note that we cannot yet identify potential COVID-19 Hot Spot regions nor provide information about possible cases of infection or fever from this resting heart rate map

What next?

With the map of the average resting heart rate as a reference, we can now analyze local and temporal deviations. This map is one of the most important intermediate steps on our way towards the Fever Map, which we are currently working on. Further results and intermediate steps are described in our subsequent posts.

In our next post, we will determine the average daily step count of our donors. Most fitness trackers measure daily step count as an indication of daily activity. So, in addition to heart rate, the step count provides us with another important signal.

cd rki
512.951 Spender:innen
214 neu seit gestern
24.590.483 gespendete Daten
(Stand: 20.5.2020)

Der Puls der Nation

Zu den wichtigsten Daten, die uns die Spender:innen über die Corona-Datenspende-App zur wissenschaftlichen Auswertung zur Verfügung stellen, gehört der Puls. Ein erhöhter Ruhepuls kann ein Hinweis auf Fieber sein, ein zentrales Symptom bei COVID-19. Mehr dazu könnt Ihr hier nachlesen.

Jedes verknüfte Gerät eine(s):r Spender(s):in liefert Daten zum Ruhepuls. Wir berechnen daraus den Tagesdurchschnitt. Zunächst müssen wir diesen Ruhepuls für einige Tage ermitteln, damit wir daraus einen Basiswert ableiten können. Wir wollen ja später erkennen können, ob es systematische Abweichungen vom normalen Ruhepuls gibt. Dazu müssen wir also erst einmal ermitteln, welcher Wert für eine:n Spender:in überhaupt “normal” ist. Natürlich hat nicht jeder Mensch den gleichen Basiswert.

Die Verteilung des Ruhepulses

Welche Basiswerte normal sind und wie breit diese Werte verteilt sind, ist in der folgenden Abbildung dargestellt. Diese Abbildung zeigt, dass die Werte grob zwischen 40 und 90 Schlägen pro Minute variieren.

Ruhepulsverteilung in ganz Deutschland: Für alle Spender:innen wurde der tagesgemittelte Ruhepuls berechnet. Der so gewonnene Basiswert für den Ruhepuls folgt einer glockenförmigen Verteilung, mit Werten zwischen etwa 40 und 90 Schägen pro Minute.

Aus allen Daten kann man dann natürlich auch den deutschlandweiten Durchschnittsruhepuls berechnen:

Ruhepuls in Deutschland: ca. 60,72 Schläge pro Minute

Hierbei muss man natürlich berücksichtigen, dass die Gemeinschaft der Spender:innen nicht repräsentativ für alle Bürger:innen ist.

Sind die Basiswerte zeitlich stabil?

Eine wichtige Frage für die Auswertung ist, ob die aggregierten Basiswerte zeitlich stabil sind. Da sich Menschen wochentags anders verhalten als z.B. am Wochenende, könnte man erwarten, dass zeitliche Veränderungen der Basiswerte in den Daten zu sehen sind. Die folgende Abbildung zeigt den deutschlandgemittelten Ruhepuls als Funktion der Zeit.

Mittlerer Ruhepuls als Funktion der Zeit: Die rote Linie repräsentiert den deutschlandweit gemittelten Ruhepuls. Die graue Schattierung symbolisiert die populationweite Variabilität des Ruhepulses, also die Breite der Verteilung in der ersten Abbildung.

Wir sehen, dass in dem angegebenen Zeitfenster der deutschlandweite Ruhepuls konstant bei 60,72 Schägen pro Minute liegt. Auch die individuelle Variability bleibt recht konstant.

Die Ruhepulskarte

Mit einem gut gemessenen durschnittlichen Ruhepuls aller Spender:innnen kann man die Frage stellen, ob dieser Wert geographischen Schwankungen unterliegt.

Die folgende Karte zeigt den durchschnittlichen Ruhepuls in allen deutschen Stadt- und Landkreisen – berechnet aus den über mehrere Wochen gemittelten Daten der Spender:innen in dem jeweiligen Stadt- bzw. Landkreis.

Die Ruhepulskarte: Für jeden Landkreis ist der mittlere Ruhepuls farbkodiert dargestellt. Der landkreisgemittelte Ruhepuls variiert zwischen 58 und 64 Schlägen pro Minute. Die Unterschiede zwischen den Landkreisen sind zwar gering, aber signifikant.

In dieser Karte wird sichtbar, dass der landkreisgemittelte Ruhepuls regional unterschiedlich ist. Die Unterschiede sind klein, aber systematisch und nicht zufällig. Zum Beispiel ist der mittlere Ruhepuls in urbanen Landkreisen systematisch niedriger als in ländlichen Gebieten. Wir sehen auch im Osten Deutschlands tendenziell höhere Werte in der Fläche.

Die Gründe hierfür können vielfältig sein, stehen aber nicht im Fokus des Projekts. Da wir aber für jeden Landkreis einen verlässlichen, mittleren Basiswert zur Berechnung der Fieberkarte benötigen, ist diese Karte für uns als Bezugskarte sehr wichtig.

Diese Ruhepulskarte gibt noch keinen Aufschluss auf mögliche Infektionsherde oder Fieber bei COVID-19 Erkrankungen.

Was kommt als nächstes?

Die Ruhepulskarte ist unsere Referenzkarte, also der Bezugspunkt. Alle Analysen, die auf Veränderungen des Ruhepulses beruhen, benötigen diese Karte als Basis. Sie ist also ein ganz wichtiger Zwischenschritt auf dem Weg zur Fieberkarte. Daran arbeiten wir jetzt und werden die nächsten Ergebnisse und Zwischenschritte in unserem nächsten Post erläutern.

Außerdem werden wir noch die mittlere tägliche Schrittzahl der Spender:innen untersuchen. Die meisten Fitnesstracker zählen die taäglichen Schritte, also ein Maß für die tägliche Aktivität. Neben dem Puls ein ganz wichtiges Signal. Die Ergebnisse zu dieser Analyse werden wir natürlich auch hier posten.